I get inspired to write all the time. I write the most wonderful posts in my head while I’m driving*, cleaning up or changing a diaper. Some times their so funny I nearly piss my pants. Other times their eye watering, poignant. Either way each one is fan-friggen-tastic.

I can’t wait to get on the computer and pound one out**.  I’m practically salivating at the idea of expressing myself as some one other than Mom, Queen of Time Outs and Sippy Cups.

Then shit hits the fan. Literally in some cases.  One second I’m fantasizing about living up to my potential and then some and the next I’m chasing Kieran around with Perry under my arm, a diaper in my hand, the phone pinned between my shoulder and ear and Amanda chasing me, whining requesting yet another outfit change.

Brilliant thoughts? Vanished.

I’ve taken to writing an idea down when I get one. In fact I have a short list sitting on top of my computer right now.

I have no idea where I was heading with those strikes of lightning. They’ll stay right where they are until I get around to throwing them out. Who knows, maybe I’ll remember what I was thinking some time between now and then. 6 months from now if I’m lucky.

PS- Thanks for the inspiration Amy. Your writer’s block was not for naught***.

PPS- While previewing this post. Flock, my browser crashed. Twice.

*When my truck isn’t being possessed by an evil demon that causes the fuel pump to go catatonic with fear.

**Yeah, that sounded dirty to me too.

***Say it with me now, ” Oooh, fancy word”.

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    Sarah, I thank the Goddess of the Internet every day that pointed me towards Cafe Mom. No Cafe Mom = No Sarah.
    Too horrible to even consider.
    I love you.
    And that’s not just the rum talking.

    naught: “Oooh, fancy word.”

  2. Sarah says:

    I feel the same way about cafemom. I stay the Hell away from that witch hunt now, though.
    I love you too but if you have rum, you need to share. NOW.

    Naught was just for you.

  3. Cara says:

    I totally write my blog posts while I’m running. Keeps my mind off of, well, running. Yeah, the trick is definitely finding the time to churn the ideas out.

    The other day my son was yelling from the bathroom, “MOMMY! Turn off the computer and come wipe my butt!”

    I usually stay up late to write. Like 2 or 3 am. It’s the only time around here that’s quiet and I feel guilty for writing (or trying to write) when the kids are awake.

    Glad I found your blog and twitter acct through Amy. You guys are amazing. Being in the middle of nowhere without the best support system and dependable working vehicles. I don’t know how you do it!

    • Sarah says:

      We do it because we have to. There really is no choice. It’s one of the reasons I refuse to give up the internet. Most of the time, that’s my only window to the world. It’s hard to let that go no matter how broke I am.
      I tend to stay up late too. Sometime around 12am my eyes start to water and my body is so tired, I tremble a little when I lay down. I’ve also told the kids that I am working when I am writing. Because I am. It keeps me sane and staying sane is a job around here.

  4. Tawnya says:

    The same thing happens to me. When I am on the edge of sleep, I can compose some freakin great posts, but because I don’t wake up to do it, I am stuck writing about my text book sometimes! Arrrg!

Leave a Reply

